X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DJ5 vs CJ5 frame

I put this in the CJ forum but I cant get any answers. I have a 80cj5 with a frame that isnt in cuch good shape and i have someone that is giving me 2 83/84 frames for a DJ5. I know the DJ5 was based on the CJ5 but did they use the same frame?

I can tell you what I've run across. Check out vintage jeep parts, from what I read and understood the dj's were just 2wd version of the cj's. I would not think there would be a frame difference. Maybe a different tail on the trans and a longer driveshaft, would be my guess. I am by no means an expert, so those with more or correct knowledge jump in.

Comment

Originally posted by 80cj5
      I put this in the CJ forum but I cant get any answers. I have a 80cj5 with a frame that isnt in cuch good shape and i have someone that is giving me 2 83/84 frames for a DJ5. I know the DJ5 was based on the CJ5 but did they use the same frame?
      I'm reasonably sure that the DJ frame is narrower. I have a '71 DJ and the Dana 44 axle is too narrow for any other application.

Comment

Does anyone have anything in a book or something online that they have seen that says it is or is not the same? Not that I dont believe or appreciate the answers Ive been given, I just want to be absolutely sure of one answer or the other.

Comment

Goin Postal