X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PTO Overdrive

Hi there... I'm still a newbie, but I'm learning I have a 1957 CJ5 with a 225 v6... 3 speed original rebuilt transmission (i think)... AND an overdrive... This overdrive confuses me.... I'm not a mechanic but I'd like to learn. First I need to figure this overdrive out!!

The overdrive has a shifter next to the gear shifter. It has two positions,"up and down", to put it simple All ive figured out is that when it's "down" the PTO winch works!! So what's happening when it's "up"???

Also, would you consider a 1957 "vintage"

that should be a dana 18 transfer case - the overdrive you speak of should be bolted on to the back of the INPUT side of the transfer case. however, i didn't think you could have both the PTO winch and the overdrive, i thought they were mutually exclusive because they both bolt to the same place. when the switch is "down" the winch works, but is there still power to the axles? if so, are the RPM's any different with the switch up or down?

with my limited knowledge of those years, and your particular jeep, i'm thinking it's just a PTO winch (which was available at some point) and not an overdrive.

i have been wrong before.

Lynn will probably chime in here soon, pretty knowledgeable on the pre-AMC jeeps. also check out jeeptech.com - it's a good tech resource, i've learned a lot there.

Comment

Actually,