X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ideas? just starting it out

alright im new to 4wdh. but i need some advice i got a 78 cj7 with a 304, i got pretty much all my cosmetic stuff done to it that i really want done now im looking to make it a nice trail rig but also something i can drive to school everyday. i was thinking about 4 inch lift but ive been hearing so much about soa conversions and regular lifts now im not a good fabricator so whatever is less fabrication would be preferred but what are your opinions on the soa or regular sua? and also tires whats a good tire that wont kill me on the road but will give me some good grip where ever i decide to go plowing through? and also i have the stock steel rims on there with some 31's which are also stock will i need to get wider rims for 33's? help me out guys im only 16 so im not real experienced but the cj was my dads since it was new and now its mine and runs good as ever but i need some input. thanks
    -kyle-

First count your pennies. This is the best place to start, otherwise you end up with a Jeep on jackstands and you walk to school. I have found that if you stay about 3" and lower, you can bolt on your lift and not worry to much about length, tilt, dropping etc. You might even squeeze some 33's under it still. If you haven't looked at you engine lately, you might want to start there though. It doesn't matter how good your Jeep looks in the garage, if it can't leave it under its own power. You might want to give it a little TLC to make it a real fire breather. There are all kinds of different cams and intakes to put on there. Replace the oil pump, as they all go bad. Replace the radiator, if it hasn't been already. Cosmetics are good and all, but make sure she's a mechanically sound machine before you go all hog wild with the fun stuff.

Comment