X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• electric fuel pump

ok to all you smart people i have a question....i bought and electric fuel pump thinking this would allow me to mount it up high in the engine compartment...well i got here wired and turned on and nothing at all, notta...i thought that there would be no problems cause i know a racer friends that has a similar fuel pump on his face car and his is mounted pretty high as well...is this just because it is too high and does not have enough power to suck it up there...i was thinking about putting a cheaper helper pump down low near the fuel tank to push the fuel up to the holley pump...will this work?

I thought most electric fuel pumps were better at pushing fuel than pulling fuel? I don't know if that with the fact that it is having to pull it up against gravity is your problem. I am no expert, I just thought I would make that suggestion.

Comment

Originally posted by athenscj5
      I thought most electric fuel pumps were better at pushing fuel than pulling fuel? I don't know if that with the fact that it is having to pull it up against gravity is your problem. I am no expert, I just thought I would make that suggestion.
      My thought as-well...never seen an electric pump pull fuel for more than a couple of inches after it exits the fuel tank. Might be asking too much of it...

Matt

Comment

Originally posted by athenscj5
        I thought most electric fuel pumps were better at pushing fuel than pulling fuel.
        Correct, I have looked into this also as I am building my CJ8 & I am going to run a electric pump & it goes close to the tank. A helper pump won't work.

RollBar

Comment

is it the holley red, or blue? those are pretty stout pumps.

Comment

ok so do mechanical fuel pumps pull fuel or do they push it...and still do yall think i could just use a helper pump?

Comment

Originally posted by TheJeepMan4804