X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shocks

OK, so I am new at this Jeep thing but learning quickly.

Here is my question.

I see about 50% of the jeeps and other lifted trucks etc running around with shocks that have the small shaft end of the shock hooked to the top bracket. The other half have the large end up top.

I installed a new set of shocks and put them in the way the old ones came out. Big end on top, small shaft on bottom with a boot around it.

It would seem to me to keep dirt out of the shock this is the way to go.

Why install them upside down?

Thanks

Comment

It stems from the practice of days gone bye. Original shocks were oil filled and not sealed as well as gas filled shocks of today. They were placed large end down to prevent the fluid from leaking out of the shock. They say now, with the current tech as it is, it doesn't really matter which end goes up. I don't know if that is entirely true, so I went with the old style. Maybe you should contact Rancho or some other shock company and find out for sure.

Comment

don't some of the older wranglers have some kind of dumb top mount for the shocks...i could've swore i saw a conversion for it

Comment

Shocks

Well I put mine on right side up with the boot on the bottom.

The old ones looked like they had been there all of 20 years and were not leaking oil so I figure the new ones will last 10.

Also I would think it is better for them when you off road a lot so the mud falls off the shaft when the shock compresses rather than trying to get packed in if the shcok was upside down.

Thanks for the education.http://forums.4wd.com/kyoung_4wdforu.../deadhorse.gif

Comment

right side up?

Originally posted by louism58 View Post
            Well I put mine on right side up with the boot on the bottom...