X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinion on Lincoln locker

I am considering welding my amc 20 I have yukon one piece axles, 33" tires.
    I drive on the street just to get to the trails.

I welcome any opinion anyone may have. A locker is not in my budget in the near future.

How about a mini-spool? I have no experience with welded gears but it seems like an idea who's time has passed. If your welds break loose you might not have money in the budget to correct the resultant damage (speculating that you'd have sympathetic failures of bearings, seals, carrier, maybe your expensive axle splines...).

Comment

Oh yeah, Lincoln lockers are waaay past their prime. That was done back in the days before easily available traction aids, born of desperation. Great way to destroy a axle. When the welds or the spiders break (they will. Think of bull riding: it's not if, it's when and how bad.) you stand a good chance of loosing the ring gear too from shrapnel.

Check this thread for more info. We had a pretty good discussion on this.

Summit Racing sells spools for around 35 bucks for about every axle EXCEPT the AMC 20. Our host sells all the good traction aids that WILL fit.
      If you ever consider an axle swap, you may want to check out spools.

Nasty nasty on the pavement tho, and some guys don't like them off-road either. I'd drop in a Detroit Locker IMHO.

Comment

Originally posted by Gryphon View Post
        Summit Racing sells spools for around 35 bucks for about every axle EXCEPT the AMC 20. Our host sells all the good traction aids that WILL fit.
        If you ever consider an axle swap, you may want to check out spools.