X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lift Kit and Tires

I am new at Jeeps. I sold my harley and now I am into the Jeep thing and love it. I don't do any heavy four wheeling but I do do some occasional mud boggin and dirt road riding. I have a 1984 CJ 7 with no lift and it has 33" wild contry tires now. I am installing a 360 engine now and when that is done I am going to lift it up and put some new tires under it. The jeep is basically used for afternoons and weekends to ride around and enjoy some drinks. What sort of lift and tires do you suggest? I want it to look good! The most important part is the money-This is a hobby so I dont want to spend too much money but I do want quality stuff! I might put 8k-10k miles per year on my jeep. What do ya'll suggest?

Re

Rubicon Express(RE) makes quality suspension lift kits for CJ's. You can choose from 2.5" or 4.5" of lift. Also, the front leaf springs are .5 " wider than stock so it makes for a quality ride. They are more expensive than some susp. lifts, but you get what you pay for. The 2.5 " kit comes with front and rear greasable shackles, quick disonnects for sway bar, as well as all the hardware needed for installation in addition to 4 new leaf springs. The 4.5" comes with a dropped pitman arm and longer disconnect tubes in addition to stuff included in 2.5" lift kit. Hope this helps. You will find cheaper lift kits, but I can vouch for the quality of RE. You won't be disappointed.

Comment

Thank You for your opinion!

Comment

That 360 will have some giddyup. Another lift option is the 2.5 with 1" body lift gives you 3.5 without flirting with drive shaft angles. DP

Comment

For the money, time and effort ... I would go with the 4wd 4" suspension lift and a set of the new interco 34" LTBs (they are cheap and look pretty damn good)

Comment

Have you ever been up near Sylvania to the mud pit? I think that is where it is. It might be shut down by now. That was a lot of fun.