X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cj Half Door Dilema

It's almost time to get my Jeep running and since it's Spring I had an idea. I am fairly new with Jeeps (you'll be able to tell from my questions) and don't know everything thing there is to know. I wanted to put half steel doors on my CJ but any mag I look at says I can only get soft half doors. Why is this? Is the stricker pin different, length of the door different, hinges weird, or is it nothing? I like steel a heck of a lot better then cloth (other then the price). If I can't use them stock then is there a way to mod them?

Too many questions, too little time....thanks

If you want steel, you'll have to buy used.
    Last edited by KCK; 04-08-2005, 12:54 AM.

Comment

no aftermarket doors

because no one makes aftermarket solid steel half doors for CJ's (at least not in the mags you're looking at and I've never seen any either). The door openings are the same on 87-95 wranglers and 76-86 cj-7's so if you can find some half doors for 87-95 wranglers then they'll fit your cj7. The only difference is how the door attaches to the body. On wranglers and newer CJ-7's (82 up maybe)it attaches to a striker pin and older style(pre82) is different, but I think you can buy the striker pins to adapt the old style. Hope this helps

Comment

What he said. Before I pulled the 84 Scrambler off the road to rebuild it, I had put the YJ half doors from my 95 in it to see if they will fit. I had to adjust the hinges and the striker a bit, but other than that, perfect fit. So if you can find a set of used half steels for a YJ or buy a new set, you would have your half doors.

Comment

I googled{ CJ5 "half doors" -soft } and got results for hard half doors.

Comment

Originally posted by Red
            I googled{ CJ5 "half doors" -soft } and got results for hard half doors.
            Crap, I assumed he was looking for CJ-7's.