X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• '77 CJ7 Vent & Fuel Filler Neck Issue

Hey all I need some suggestions on a problem with the vent line setup on my '77 CJ7. It appears that Jeep really screwed up the '77 by running the vent line to the outside fenderwell and then tieing into the filler neck on that side, rather then strait in on the tank side. I am not a Jeep expert, but it apears they became aware of the problem and corrected it in '78. The problem is that because of the bend to make the turn in the fenderwell, it kinks the line and makes it a very frustrating problem refueling the vehicle.
    Here is the problem, every magazine, Quadratec, 4wdhdw, Acme, etc all get this part from the same vendor and it is made to the original OEM specs rather than a corrected version. If you look at the picture in the mags it looks correct, but the part arrives wrong (not as pictured). I ordered one from 4wdhdw and they told me they can't get the vendor to correct it.
    Anyone know where I can get a different filler neck that will fit? Or another suggestion?
    Thanks
    J

I'm not sure if they changed between 77 and 78 but both of the hoses have a 90 degree bend in them on mine which lines em up with the filler neck. If you aren't using the oem hoses that might be the problem. Sorry if I am way off here..... you might try posting some pics for clarity.

Comment

Filler Neck

Dear JSCHIEF,

I'm not sure I understand your question but I had trouble filling the tank on my '77 after I installed a larger aftermarket tank. The problem was definitely a kink due to the bend you're referring to. I shortened the hose so that it would pull up further both at the tank end and the filler neck end. This didn't take all the kink out but it alleviated a great deal of my trouble. As a matter of fact, I had forgotten about it until I read your question. BE CAREFUL not to shorten the hose too much. Hope this helps you.

Comment