X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need T5 help

Well, my T5WC is on the ge-rodge floor for the 3rd time this year just because I had nothing better to do Saturday morning after extreme 4x4! Ended up being a good thing though, since I ripped the mounting bracket off of the Trans case from wheeln with a broken motor mount. Hence why Im looking for a parts T5 in the wanted section.

Problem: still pops out of revers

Action: Fix it

Symptoms: Pops out of reverse under a load, especially trying to back up going up hill, even when I hold it in. Took the lid off this time around expecting to see some chewed up gears, but everything looks clean. No chips, gouges, scratches on any of the gears, syncros look fine (12,000 miles - ish), but Im not a transmission expert or anything. Im looking for some ideas on where to look / go next... school me gurus!!!

Looking for a T5 Tail housing, and a CJ bell housing also!!!! Someone has to have something laying around!

Sounds like a bad dentent spring. There is (if I remember right) a ball and spring that holds the parts together when the gears are engaged. When it wears out, the gear won't stay in. The repair is usually pretty simple I am told, but I have not done it.

Once you get that fixed, try swapping your oil to Royal Purple Synchromesh. I did it on mine and loved it. I could sure tell the difference big-time!

Comment

Last edited by Gryphon; 11-16-2010, 12:43 PM. Reason: browser hiccup: double posted.

Comment