X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parking Brake Adjustment

I'm a newbie. Bought a 98 Wrangler SE this past New Year's Eve. I love it. Used to go Jeepin' with my Dad when I was a kid and now I want my son to enjoy the outdoors the way I did.

Anyway, couldn't find anything in a search, so please forgive me if this has been asked.

My parking brake won't hold. How can I adjust it? I haven't pulled a wheel, too damn cold right now so maybe the shoes need replaced, but is there a way to adjust the parking brake? I can't park it in my driveway b/c it won't hold.

Thanks

i'm in the same situation...i have to park in gear (reverse) if i'm on any sort of slope or the jeep will roll.

there is a parking brake adjustment nut under the jeep sort of between the rear wheels. i think this should be last resort though, after you've checked and adjusted the rear brakes...i haven't been able to do that either because of the weather.
    i'm sure someone else can explain this all better

Comment

when is the last time your brake system was overhual ? when the weather gets better out . i'd pull the wheel and check the rear shoes. and start from there .if the shoes are fine then i'd adjust them . if not change them out with new hardware and shoes

Comment

Hey do the YJ's have a hand brake for the parking or a foot like the CJ's?
        I would like to put a handbrake option in the trail rig I am gonna build.

Comment

foot . but you need to be careful if u get one from 92 like thur 95 there was a recall on the parking brakes no holding and popping loose

Comment

I could have sworn I saw a YJ with a handbrake. What year did they switch to a handbrake?

Comment

Originally posted by Lost-One
              I could have sworn I saw a YJ with a handbrake. What year did they switch to a handbrake?