X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just ordered Rubicon Express 3.5" lift

Just ordered Rubicon Express 3.5" standard lift. Anyone have experience with this lift? Any problems I should watch for? Suggested Prep? Special tools required or very helpful? I am new to working on suspensions any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated.

That was what I started with. It's a very good lift to start off with and is pretty simple. Make sure that you start soaking all your bolts in PB Blaster a few days in advance. The only special tool you may need is some spring compressors for the front. Also the front shocks may be difficult to get off as they like to rotate when you try and remove the nut on top. Hopefully you will soak those nuts too with PB Blaster. We couldn't get one of mine off no matter what we did so we cut one of the shocks off with a Sawzall. Take your time and have fun with it. It should take about 6 hours if this is new to you.

Here are some pics of the install:
    http://wrangler.rutgers.edu/gallery/.../RE3_5_Install

A good writeup for this lift is http://www.wanderingtrail.com/Rubi_2...on_express.htm keeping in mind that some of the parts he used you won't have so just refer to RE's instructions and/or disregard the irrelevant portions of his writeup.

Comment

i've got the superflex and love it. i got almost 5" of lift to start out with and now at about 4 and some change. I don't remember my measurements from stock. but they wont sag that much over time. once they get settled you will be more than happy. I can fit 35's no problem just would need longer bump stops and regear.

the most important tool is pb blast! I didn't need a spring compressor. just take your time put all the parts in 2 groups 1 for front and 1 for rear. and read the directions that come with them.

which shocks did you order?

Comment