X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bikini top help

just bought a bestop strap-type top for my 86 cj. has a supertop now, so the windshield header is in place. there are two snaps on the front edge of the new top that (instructions) say will snap on the olds studs. but windshield frame as been replaced and has no studs. new screw-in studs
    are in the package, but no matter how hard i stretch the top (sideways) if i drill in the new studs so they line up with the ones on the top, thry will go throught the header and the top fabric! geeezz! how hard can this be?? i'm a nuclear tech ferchripesake!! what am i doing wrong? any pictures? advice?

Originally posted by bill tomlinson

just bought a bestop strap-type top for my 86 cj. has a supertop now, so the windshield header is in place. there are two snaps on the front edge of the new top that (instructions) say will snap on the olds studs. but windshield frame as been replaced and has no studs. new screw-in studs
    are in the package, but no matter how hard i stretch the top (sideways) if i drill in the new studs so they line up with the ones on the top, thry will go throught the header and the top fabric! geeezz! how hard can this be?? i'm a nuclear tech ferchripesake!! what am i doing wrong? any pictures? advice?
    Is it the strapless version that only covers the drivers compartment?

Either way I don't remember any of the new Bestop bikini's utilizing the snaps on the windshield frame...All the ones I have seen lately will just use the windshield channel.

I put on the strapless style last summer and it just slotted into the windshield channel then strapped around the sport bar...the only reall strap was a tensioning strap that went around the sport bar in the middle and then slotted to the footman loop on the windshield frame to help tension the top...Never had a problem with it all summer and only had to retension the top once.

Matt

Comment