X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bleeding brakes

Looks like I am going to have to bleed my brakes this weekend. Hoping somebody can shed some light on the difficulty of this task. I have never done this before and am wondering if a novice with tools can do this or not. Any helpfull hints/trade secrets would be helpful as well.

Thanks

not hard to do just takes time get some thing like this makes it a lot easer to do by your self - start at the back pass side wheel - then the back driver wheel -then the front pass side - then last the front driver side

http://www.partsamerica.com/ProductD...tnumber=648591
    Last edited by fuzz401; 09-06-2005, 02:17 PM.

Comment

Hummmm, I read that U do the front passenger side first then the drivers side then the back passenger side then the back drivers side.

I know it sounds back words but I'll have to find the article, I think it came out of a rebuilders book. Something to do w/setting the porportioning valve correctly or something.

RollBar

P.S. If anyone can find out please post.

Comment

I've always heard it to be the brake furthest from the valve goes first. Maybe there is a difference that i dont know about. I've always done it that way with no problems.

It makes it alot easier if you have somebody pumping the brakes for you. Have them pump the brake until there is pressure then they hold down the brake. Then you open the valve and let the air bubbles out. Just repeat the process until nothing but fluid comes out then go to the next brake. Make sure the resevoir has plenty of fluid during this process or you get to do it all again. Very easy. Have fun.

Comment

i dont know that doing the front first or the back first really matters. if it has a duel resavour brake box (could'nt think of the right word) they should be independent

Comment