X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• front axle done!!! broke a brake line

I ended up having my buddy bore the hole bigger in the innner axle to fit the bigger u joint. Looks like it will work pretty good. I put a bunch of weld beads to thicken the outer edge for more strengh on the yoke.

Now i have a rebuilt whole front axle. Gears were all good, but inner axle seals all new bearings and seals, almost every seal or bearing u can get went in new. Got it all put back together and the shop cleaned up.

I went down the road and tested the brakes since the calipers were off, and i really stomped on them which i have never done before, they were locking up on gravel, then the pass side brake line blew. SOB!! Guess i shouldnt have done that. The stainless steel lines rubbed agianst the tires before i noticed it the plastic brake line was showing. I drove it like this for 4 months or so but know that i stomped on the brake they blew at that same spot they were rubbing before.

Now i need two new front brake lines, no one in town has one since its lifted 4" Any way i think i will cover the new lines with some rubber hose that way if they rub on something i will notice before the lines are wrecked.

Anyone know where i can get just the front brake lines??

Jodean,

Probably a good thing you blew the line like you did. I'm pretty sure 4WD sells them for up to 4" of lift. And congrats on the axle job.
    Last edited by blackwater; 09-11-2005, 09:16 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by blackwater
      Probably a good thing you blew the line like you did. I'm pretty sure 4WD sells them for up to 4" of lift. And congrats on the axle job.
      I agree 100%.

Comment

4WD has the Goodridge and I love these. Get the whole set and put the spares on the shelf. Not a bad idea to have a spare set around when they cannot be bought at the local store when they break.

Comment