X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• exaust

hey i wanna get a new muffler on my xj it is too quiet i was thinking a flowmasters 40series muffler any body got any iother recomadations?

thanks
    Joel

I don't know about the Flowmasters, but judging from what you want,(louder), I wouldn't get the Gibson cat-backs. I've got 'em and they aren't very aggresive sounding...I am pleased with them, though.

Comment

I have a Flowmaster 50 Series Delta Flow muffler and it pisses off old ladies when I am around.

Comment

Originally posted by dsarraf
        I have a Flowmaster 50 Series Delta Flow muffler and it pisses off old ladies when I am around.
        You shouldn't be pissing anyone off with noise from your muffler. Wheelers get a bad enough rap with adding to it. With proper driving skills, most people really won't notice the loud pipes.

If your wanting a different muffler JUST to be disgustingly loud, then realize there is a tradeoff. When on the trail it is hard to hear someone outside the vehicle, it is hard to hear someone in the vehicle, it is hard to hear the CB. The only reason people will turn heads, is NOT in admiration, but disgust.

If you are installing a free flow exhaust, then increased noise is a part of that. Gibson has an excellent tone that offers great performance and an excellent tone for performance.

I have a Magnaflow and consider it entirely too loud. I don't like the sacrifice of not hearing other things when I need too. I drive as lightly as I can to keep the noise down for my benefit as well as others. I'm even giving consideration to going with a Gibson because it's about 10db lower in tone and won't loose any performance.

Get real, being cool is not about being disgusting, but having a decent rig that is balanced and will truely turn heads because you care.

Comment