X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new, confused and help would help, completely stock

So I am new to the jeep world. I just purchased a 75 cj5. Reasearched and read previous post and looks like there are a lil intermingles parts in these things( where the frustration started).
    So i need priority list. it has a dana 30 with warn hubs, amc 20 rear, 304 with a manual tranny. Wiring is a lil rough(alot), motor runs and is sound it seems (starting is spotty). Basically to do list is replace wiring(ditch anything thats not needed), Buy and install DUI, Buy 1 piece replacement mozer shafts, redo complete brake system.. truss rear end. obviously all tie rod ends and universals. It has been sitting 15 yrs in storage.
    I WANNA KEEP THE 20. So from your exsperience best order to tackle????????? Im fairly mech competent, access to welders, presses steel fabrication tools........
    do I do? Thanks in advance. You guys on here seem very knowledgable.
    Last edited by futurejeeper; 12-11-2010, 02:39 PM.

Brakes sound like a good first hit if ya can't stop with the present ones. Did a major rework of my 86 CJ brakes. Master, booster,brake lines with rock guard and total rear drum brake replacement. She stops on a dime. Ya have front discs on yours? If not it might be a good time to replace the drum brakes.

Comment

i HAVE drums all the way around. I was thinking of upgrading to disc's, but don't know if I should until i getter on the road and make sure this thing is sound enough to dump huge dollars in. Its manual everything. I was thinking of rebuilding complete brake system too stock. priced it out i can do for under a grand. then if its sound was thinkg next year going to the ssbs disc kits for it. Its got 31's on it and thats plenty. Just want it for a trail buggy, hills just general fun. hunting wagon in good old british columbia

Comment