X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MC2100 HELP Please!!!

I have removed the old carter crap and am going to install the 2100. I need as much detailed advice as possible. Where things get hooked up to on this carb mostly. PCV? Carb bowl vent? Matzilla told me that I only need my charcoal canister and the EGR to remain intact. The only thing I see from the charcoal canister is the carb bowl vent which I have no idea where to hook it to. As for the EGR that really doesn't hook into the carb at all right? Where will the PCV hook to and can I run a new vacuum line from the distrubtor to the carb? Can you tell that I am new to this shtuff?

Thanks in advance.

Geep

I'm assuming you're going to put this on a 232 or 258?

Looking at a Chiltons manual, I can try to guide you on how the hook-ups go for PCV, EGR, etc. and I can post pictures after I quit procrastinating and finish my homework. Once I find my Tech manual for 1973, I'll put up some more detailed descriptions.

On a 73-74, EGR goes from the valve to a coolant over-ride switch, T'd to two vacuum temp modulators, and the coolant over-ride switch sends the EGR to the carb, close to the accelerator pump.

Ported vacuum to the distributor goes to a seperate over-ride switch, to a vacuum valve, to the right side of the carburetor (opposite side the linkage). You can probably bypass this and go straight to it, it shows on the diagram above the carb area 'Carb Ported Vacuum'.

PCV goes straight from the valve to the back of the carburetor.

As for the charcoal canister, I can't tell you because I can't find a diagram in this book, but once I get my '73 TSM back I'll get back to you on it.

There may be a little module thing on the accelerator linkage. Again, I'll get back to you on this as well when I find the 73 TSM.