X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dirt track racing

I am looking to get into dirt track racing. I can get my hands on a vw for free is this a good car. I will be entering the 4 cyclender class for now. If the vw is no good for racing what will be. I dont want a v8 yet. This is my first time racing so that is why i want to enter the 4 cyclender class.

Why don't you dirt track your vette?

Comment

I am serious, about this. Is the vw good or no, or should i buy something else.

Comment

There's a local 1/3 mile dirt track that does "Challenger Class" racing. Basically you take a street car, knock out the windows/glass and weld in a cage. The rest is optional.

From what I've seen, the Ford Probe GTs do VERY well.

Comment

Originally posted by hotroddenal
          I am serious, about this. Is the vw good or no
          Have you never seen "Herbie the luv bug", vw's go anywhere!!

Comment

do it!

Comment

You could race you jeep if the back axel wasn't all screwed up from pretending to be in a race car when you were really in a jeep.

Comment

VW bug? I'd reinforce the Fenders on it befor they cut the tire in the first lap, after some contact. I'd look in to a front wheel drive car if your starting out. I drove quarter midgets the proceeded to outlaws befor I joined the army and drit tracks aren't like getting in to a field and sliding around you have to control the slide and watch out for the other idiot who just wants to spin you out to get in front.
                Other than the bugs fenders I'd say go for it, and don't rip the fenders straigh off cause that would just cause you to break stuff when you contacted it. Free cars in dirt raceing end up being money holes, worse than jeeps I would say.
                G/l if you go for it.

Comment