X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 93 Yj / Dana 44???

I keep reading that the Canadian YJ's came with DANA 44's. But did ALL of them or just certain combinations? How do I identify it? Did both ends come with the 44's?

I am new to JEEPS so I appologise if any of my terminology is not up to par yet.

Sorry if I wasn't very clear. You guys told me just about everything but HOW I IDENTIFY IT. Thanks for telling me I should swap it from this or that.... but what if it already has it???

Guys I am new to JEEPS but not to mechanics. I am limited by the information I am provided. I have yet to be able to confirm if Canadian YJ's had 44's stock or if this was an option with certain combinations. So in the meantime I need a way to be able to identify what a DANA 44 looks like or where I can find an identification mark/serial.

I do not want to swap anything! I want to simply identify if I have a DANA 44. I do not want to do anything but identify it. Can some one please describe or take pictures of a DANA 44 that will distinguish it from any other axel. Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by ex-racer#2; 03-07-2006, 10:29 AM.

I don't know about canadian yj's but my recomendation is to swap f&r axles both, If your running stock transfer what about a 9" rear and a high pinion dana 44 front out of an old ford. No more pos 4x4 vacume lock. Are you running a 4 banger? if so you probably got 4.10's but better check any way, what size tires? engine it all makes a difference

Comment

Canadian YJ's did not have D44s.

Comment

I've heard Canadian YJs had a rear D44 option. But never confirmed it. So I am considering it rumor till I see it on Myth Busters. Supposedly Brazillian XJs had a D44/D44 option. A guy on EJP has them in his XJ.

Comment

Originally posted by joe_and_jeep