X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dana 44's ?

where can i get dana 44s and which ones will work on my 92 Yj. I am new at the jeep thing and i don't know to much about axles. What ford model has the 8.8

Heh, there Jesse,

Originally posted by jesse187
    where can i get dana 44s and which ones will work on my 92 Yj. I am new at the jeep thing and i don't know to much about axles. What ford model has the 8.8
    The Ford explorer has the rear axle that ya want. 96' newer should all have the 31 splined axles and most all with the V8 and tow pkg, had the factory limited slip and 4.10 gears. Most 44's are wider than your YJ, but there are some waggy (older fullsize Jeeps)axles that are drivers side drop. Good luck HMR-RSQ

Comment

thanks for the help. Well i guess now i need to find a explorer

Comment

a ford 9" rear and 44 front will do you fine. different vehicles will get you different widths.
        Last edited by FUBAR; 01-04-2007, 12:38 AM.

Comment

quick and easy D44 rear will come out of an 86-90 XJ with tow package
          they're the exact width you need (60.5") and have the same bolt pattern as your D30 front

Comment

which have the d44 fronts?

Comment

Originally posted by bstewart91yj
              quick and easy D44 rear will come out of an 86-90 XJ with tow package
              they're the exact width you need (60.5") and have the same bolt pattern as your D30 front
              Bstewart is right if ya want a 44 in the rear. The 8.8 is nice due to the same width and has disc brakes.

Comment

8.8's are 1.5" too skinny wheel spacers would be needed to achieve the right width

Superior has a super 88 kit that actually spaces out the axle and gets the 8.8 to a full 60.5" with high strength shafts and a locker if you go with the 8.8

Comment

Originally posted by cbbc250
                  which have the d44 fronts?

no xj has a D44 front...you'd have to get them from an FSJ