X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need to scroll my window more

I've been buying from 4WD Hardware so long I don't remember when I started. When they came onto the web I just continued buying from them there. And I just recently saw this forum for the first time! Ugh! I don't know how I missed it! Well, I'm here now.

I've been driving CJ's for 27 years. Bought my first one, a 72 CJ5 w/304 and no top in 1978. Then a 79 CJ7/258 hardtop, an 81 CJ7/151 softop, an 86 CJ7/258 hardtop, and now my second 79 CJ7/304 hardtop, which is becoming a 79/86 hybrid. My 86 died from a fatal case of rust. The chassis failed; the body just fell apart. If anybody ever tries to tell you that undercoating is good rustproofing for a CJ, tie em up and throw em in a ditch.

My 79 now has the following parts from my 86-front bumper complete w/brush guard, headlights, frame cover, soft top and hardtop, 86 hard doors coming as soon as some repairs are done, steering column & steering wheel, high-back seats, seatbelts, rear fold & tumble seat, roll bar, tailgate, spare tire carrier, intermittent wipers, t176 trans (t18a being rebuilt) D300 transfer case. Complete stainless steel hardware, hinges, etc. There's more I just can't think of it now.

My next project is to get my '86 wide-track axles under me. I've also converted the suspension to YJ springs, which I would recommend to anybody driving a CJ.

I have driven over 300,000 miles in my CJ's. My 81, which I drove to Alaska, Northwest Territory, and California, had 202,000 miles on it when I finally sold it in 92 (I bought it new). My 86 went to Maine, Nova Scotia, and NE Quebec probably 6 times, maybe more, and they have all prowled more trails and tracks in the Appalachian Mts. of VA, WVA, and PA than I could ever count or even remember.