X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Charging a car battery

ok guys. my mom left her lights on on her car last night even though they always turn off on their own. i was about to go to school (in my jeep) when she couldn't get her car started. soooooooo, despite what was right in my eyes (she has another car: a 1970 VW karmann ghia) i let her drive mine. oh no. i found out that i am a VERY jealous driver when it comes to my zj. but that's not what im asking. i've never charged a car and so i want to know what all i need to do. i already have the jumper cables. should i charge from mine to hers? anything i need to do before? risks? etc. just how would you guys do it. in case it matters, she has an 05 chevy equinox 4 banger i think

turn the cherokee on, attach red clamp to red (positive) battery knob thing, black clamp to black (negetive) battery knob thing on the jeep, then repeat on the chevy. dont let the clamps touch each other when theyre attached to the battery before you connect them to the other battery. http://www.myfordfocus.com/images/ho...atteryjump.gif
    Last edited by deerhntr20; 12-09-2005, 12:35 PM.

Comment

ok but what is 4 hooked onto and what is the negative wire going to dead battery?

Comment

screw "4" just hook it to negative on the dead battery
        Last edited by deerhntr20; 12-09-2005, 12:42 PM.

Comment

The diagram is indicating that the #4 be hooked to vehicle ground from the donor battery since the dead batter is already hooked to ground. Sometimes it is easier to get a good "clamp" to engine ground that try to connect it on the battery.

Most of the time just run the cables direct batter to battery. Red to red, black to black or + to + and - to -.